327. “Look, I’m sorry, I didn’t mean you look EXACTLY like Linda Hunt.”

The episode:Invasion USA,” ep. 602

The riff: Apologized by Tom as two guys ride in a car: A macho-looking dude in the back and a kind of shrimpy, round-faced guy in the front.

The explanation: It’s the smaller guy in the front that Tom is comparing to American actress Linda Hunt. Best known today for her ongoing role as the quirky Henrietta Lange in NCIS: Los Angeles, the 4′ 9” character actress appearing in many films throughout the 1980s-2000s such as “Dune,” “Kindergarten Cop,” “Pocahantas” and “Stranger than Fiction.” She won an Oscar for Best Supporting Actress in 1983 for “The Year of Living Dangerously.” She also lent her distinctive voice as the narrator of Sony’s “God of War” series on the Playstation.

Novelty factor: I’ve seen Linda Hunt in probably a dozen films, but I never knew her name until this moment. I’d always sort of wondered.

One thought on “327. “Look, I’m sorry, I didn’t mean you look EXACTLY like Linda Hunt.”

  1. You probably already saw if you did an imdb.com check of her filmography, Hunt won the Oscar playing a guy – not a transgender or transvestite, but a dude. All she did was cut her hair short. I remember seeing the movie when it came out and was blown away.

    Not to toot my own horn, but . . . .
    The H&R had an Oscar-picking contest. While I didn’t win, I was the only one who chose her to win.

What do you think, sirs?

