274. “Can you borrow me a dollar?”

The episode:Money Talks,” the first of two shorts before “The Beast of Yucca Flats,” ep. 621

The riff: Asked by Mike as the spirit (more like the shadow) of Benjamin Franklin appears and says “William? William, my boy…

The explanation: In the upper Midwest, the phrase “borrow” as a different colloquial meaning for whatever reason, being used in situations where the rest of the country would say “lend.” I’m not sure why it’s centered around this area, but it stands to reason that all of the lakes in Minneapolis have a way of making their nearby residents deranged in the ways of the English language.

Novelty factor: I’m not even sure why I know this, but I did. I know I’ve heard it before, but I’m not really sure where. I’m sure it would be confusing to someone outside the Midwest, though.

What do you think, sirs?

