262. “It’s Big Daddy’s birthday! I’ve got life in me, Big Daddy!”

The episode:Last Clear Chance,” the short before “Radar Secret Service,” ep. 520

The riff: said in a come-hither voice by Servo as a young woman pulls up to a farm in a car.

The explanation: It took a little while for me to figure out, but this is apparently a line from the film adaptation of Tennessee Williams’ “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof.” It’s spoken by Elizabeth Taylor’s character, “Maggie the Cat” to her plantation owner father-in-law, Big Daddy. I’m not entirely sure, as I can’t seem to find much in the way of good references, but I think she’s saying that she’s pregnant?

Novelty factor: I had no idea, honestly. I had a hard time even confirming this one was from “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof.” I assume that means it’s not like one of the iconic lines of the film? I couldn’t find any clips of it.

2 thoughts on “262. “It’s Big Daddy’s birthday! I’ve got life in me, Big Daddy!”

  1. It’s definitely from Cat on A Hot Tin Roof, which is a really, really fine film that everyone should see.

    I believe the line refers to metaphorical life (as contrasted to her husband, who has effectively cut himself off from the world, the reasons for which are pretty much what the movie is about) and not literal new human life.

What do you think, sirs?

