240. “Oh I’d like to know where, you got the notion.”

The episode:Undersea Kingdom pt. 1,” the short in front of “Attack of the Giant Leeches,” ep. 406

The riff: Sung by all three guys as a quartet of Navy sailors walks in perfect lock-step with one another.

The explanation: I’m a little embarrassed that I couldn’t immediately place this one, but this is of course an excerpt from the 1974 #1 hit “Rock the Boat” by disco-soul group Hues Corporation. I assume they threw it in just because the characters are boat-going sailors.

Novelty factor: I know this song of course, but looking it up made me realize that I’d never really heard of Hues Corporation as a musical group.

What do you think, sirs?

