231. “You see, I stopped a car with my face once, my forehead’s all Bondo.”

The episode:X Marks the Spot,” the short before “King Dinosaur,” ep. 210

The riff: Said in a New York accent by Tom as a big, lumpy-faced guardian angel goes on about the poor driving abilities of a hapless dead guy in celestial traffic court. That’s honestly what this short is about.

The explanation: Bondo is a brand of adhesive putty that is used for making various repairs, manufactured by 3M since 1955. It is often used in automotive and boat repair, but also has applications in woodworking and carpentry.

Novelty factor: I’ve seen this short before, and I think it’s fairly clear from the context what they’re talking about, but I don’t believe I’ve ever actually seen Bondo before. I feel like they refer to the product in multiple other episodes, though.

One thought on “231. “You see, I stopped a car with my face once, my forehead’s all Bondo.”

  1. In Minnesota, land of rust, Bondo is very common, when you are a kid, old rusty cars often have lots of Bondo sculpting.

What do you think, sirs?

