176. “Well, the old clock on the wall says it’s time for the Longines Symphonette.”

The episode: “The Phantom Creeps pt. 2,” the short in front of “Rocket Attack U.S.A.,” ep. 205

The riff: Spoken in an old-time radio announcer’s voice as a man in what looks like a recording studio is shown talking into a microphone.

The explanation: I’m not sure if “the old clock on the wall says it’s time for” is a reference to anything in particular, but the Longines Symphonette was a long-running classical music radio program. It was on multiple stations from 1943 to 1957, sponsored by the Longines watch company. Talk about pulling out a pretty obscure riff, here. The same radio program was also referenced in the They Might Be Giants song “Birdhouse in Your Soul.”

Novelty factor: I don’t think I need to tell you that I had no idea. I had to run multiple Google searches to even determine exactly what he was saying before figuring out it was “Longines Symphonette.”

One thought on “176. “Well, the old clock on the wall says it’s time for the Longines Symphonette.”

  1. I think “well the old clock on the wall says it’s time for” phrase was Dean Martin’s stock bit at the end of his variety show. I THINK he was referring to the end of the show and would say that the clock said something different, like, “Well the old clock on the wall says it’s time for me to be like a tree and leaf,” or something like that. It’s been a LONG time since I’ve seen it, but that’s what I recall.

What do you think, sirs?

