165. “The moon does not deny me its essence.”

The episode:12 to the Moon,” ep. 524 (Perhaps the scantest Wikipedia entry ever.)

The riff: Said by Crow in a deep and serious voice as a foolhardy scientist rushes forward to stupidly touch a mysterious fluid bubbling up out of the moon. Unsurprisingly, it burns his foolish hands.

The explanation: This is a play on a line from “Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb.” They’re calling this advancing scientist a crazy fool by parodying a similar phrase about women that the crazy General Ripper says in Dr. Strangelove, shortly after we find out that he’s gone mad: “Women, er, women sense my power, and they seek the life essence. I do not avoid women, Mandrake. But I do deny them my essence.” Crow has reversed it here to emphasize this scientist’s arrogance in thinking that this strange fluid isn’t going to hurt him.

Novelty factor: I didn’t immediately recognize the reference, but I remember it now after seeing the clip. The guys certainly like to quote “Dr. Strangelove,” I’ve noticed. This is the second riff related to the movie that I’ve done.

What do you think, sirs?

