119. “Gordon of Gloucester?”

The episode:The Thing that Couldn’t Die,” ep. 805

The riff: Asked aloud by Crow after one of the movie’s heroines says “Maybe Gordon would like to go.”

The explanation: Gorton’s of Gloucester is a popular frozen seafood chain, known for fish sticks and other forms of frozen, breaded fish. It’s typically just known as “Gorton’s,” with the slogan “Trust the Gorton’s fisherman!” Although I don’t think I would trust him enough to try “prepared fish balls.”

Novelty factor: I’m quite familiar with Gorton’s, as I imagine most people probably are, but never in my life have I heard “of Gloucester” attached to the name. I can’t even find many references to it online.

What do you think, sirs?

