96. “Do you need to go horsies before you go to bed?”

The episode:Alien from L.A.,” ep. 516

The riff: Asked by Crow as an extremely drugged-looking Kathy Ireland falls asleep in the middle of a sentence. She is really abysmal in this movie, I have to say.

The explanation: Okay, this is a fascinating one. This is basically just a straight-up inside joke of the MST3k writers–and not even the writers but the producer as well. I found an explanation in this interview with Joel, Trace and Jim Mallon from 2008. As Mallon put it, “My cousin, when she was diaper training, would hop around and say ‘Mommy, I gotta go horsies!’ So it made perfect sense to me. I think her potty-training thing was a horse.” And this isn’t just a throwaway riff either, this is something they say on at least two occasions. When I heard it this time I was immediately reminded of the same riff in my favorite short, “Johnny at the Fair.”

Novelty factor: There is literally no way that a person could know the exact origin of this riff without that interview. This is MST3k at its most obscure. No image or video for this entry, as I have no idea what I would submit to you.

One thought on “96. “Do you need to go horsies before you go to bed?”

  1. I didn’t know the context the first time I saw this episode, but I think there was enough to pick up on the riff’s meaning — it just SOUNDED, to me, like one of those weird euphemisms that parents tend to invent (or that kids invent and the parents pick up) right around that stage of a kid’s life.

What do you think, sirs?

