33. “Ed Wood! No! I have angoraphobia!”

The episode:The Violent Years,” ep. 610

The riff: Wailed by Crow as the crew runs into the theater, just after learning that their experiment, “The Violent Years,” was written by legendary Z-movie auteur Ed Wood.

The explanation: Wood, as openly depicted in his first real feature, Glen or Glenda, was a heterosexual crossdresser. He had a special attachment to the angora wool produced by angora rabbits, and loved to wear it in big, puffy sweaters. His wife described the fixation as something other than a sexual fetish, and more of a “neomaternal comfort.” Crow, meanwhile, is taking a jab both at Wood’s reputation as a director/writer and his cross-dressing habit.

Novelty factor: I knew this well, fan of bad movies that I am. I will say though that this riff was quite difficult to hear in all the commotion of the door sequence starting. I’ve seen this episode a few times before, but I don’t think I’ve ever really heard the riff before.

Fuzzy but confusing.

Fuzzy but confusing.

3 thoughts on “33. “Ed Wood! No! I have angoraphobia!”

  1. I’m surprised you didn’t mention the Johnny Depp film. 🙂 For those of you not in the know, some good sources for Ed Wood history are the Book, Nightmare of ecstasy, and the Video Look back in Angora.

What do you think, sirs?

