25. “They made love in their Chevy van and that is not alright with me!”

The episode:Hobgoblins,” ep. 907

The riff: Exclaimed in disgust by Tom as the movie’s two most promiscuous characters, ditzy Daphne and her army boyfriend Nick, emerge from a van that had just been a-rockin’, complete with “boing boing boing” sound effects. The whole bout of “sex” lasts roughly 20 seconds.

The explanation: This is a lyrical reference to the 1975 hit song “Chevy Van” by country singer Sammy Johns. The singer had a few other hits in his day, and wrote for other artists, but nothing approached the success of “Chevy Van,” which reached #5 on the Billboard Hot 100. The final lyrics of the song proclaim “We made love in my Chevy van, and that’s alright with me.”

Novelty factor: I don’t think I need to tell you that I had no idea, but from the way Tom said it, I could tell in context that this was probably a song lyric reference.

3 thoughts on “25. “They made love in their Chevy van and that is not alright with me!”

  1. Another gag in the “over 40 collection” I was in fifth grade when this came out, so I heard it played to death. Ghods I miss the 70s…………

    • Oh yes, if you never have, Google 1970’s Vans to see the sort of mobile party palaces people were making out of vans back in the day. Waterbeds, lighting systems, a lot of wood, and MILES of shag carpet. You love them or you hate them, nothing was quite like those vans…….

What do you think, sirs?

