17. “Stop Monster Island, I want to get off!”

The episode:Godzilla vs. Megalon,” ep. 212

The riff: Delivered by Joel as explosions rock Monster Island and Godzilla’s enemy and sometimes ally Anguirus runs for cover.

The explanation: This is a joke format that Joel and the bots use on a number of occasions, always yelling “Stop the ____, I want to get off!”, typically in a voice that reminds me of The Wizard of Oz exclaiming “I can’t come back, I don’t know how it works!” (Which Joel also loves to say) It’s a reference to the 1961 stage musical “Stop the World, I Want to Get Off,” a drama set against the backdrop of a circus.

Novelty factor: I’ve heard the expression “stop the world, I want to get off” before, but never had any idea of where it originally came from.

MST3k really asked you to have an extremely eclectic working knowledge of theater and popular culture. This is epitomized here.

MST3k really asked you to have an extremely eclectic working knowledge of theater and popular culture. This is epitomized here.

What do you think, sirs?

